• Walking and hiking trail (PR)

capo rosso's german tower

  • Heritage and memory
  • Sport and adventure

Discovering heritage

D824 TOWARDS ARONE BEACH

20115 PIANA

Capo Rosso tower

We like

Hiking from Capu Rossu, in the Calanche de Piana. The path is easy at the beginning and winds under a vegetation cover made up of rosemary, myrtle, arbutus and other bushes of the maquis dominated in places by holm oaks and large tortuous olive trees. The renovated site will allow you to discover

Capu Rossu is one of the highest sea cliffs in Europe. A beautiful hike allows you to discover the coast of Capo Rosso up to the top of the Genoese tower which overlooks the Cape.
The path is easy at the beginning and winds under a vegetation cover made up of rosemary, myrtle, arbutus and other bushes of the maquis dominated in places by holm oaks and large tortuous olive trees. The renovated site will allow you to discover fountains and forgotten gardens. Capu Rossu, today deserted, was once well populated, in heritage, no less than 17 stone constructions, called "Casette" and which were formerly used for the storage of straw and wheat and as shelter for men and their animals. Goats and sheep gave a perfumed milk which was used to make a delicious cheese: Brocciu, still very famous in the region. After the sheepfold and the wheat field, it is the ascent to the tower, we climb the summit by its less steep side: the south. A good path leads to the summit (cairns) and to the Turghiu tower. If you enter, a narrow staircase will allow you to reach the platform and there a breathtaking view is offered to you. The Genoese tower, built on the edge of a cliff more than 300 metres high, gives a 360° view of the surrounding landscape and of its three sisters: the towers of Omigna, Orchinu and Cargèse.
This hike is to be done with hiking boots, which are necessary on almost the entire route which is very rocky. It is important to leave early in the morning to do this hike because the sun heats up a lot on this part of the coast. On the outward journey, the ascent to Capo Rosso is quite difficult and you should not neglect the amount of water to take with you.
The whole of the path is visible from the car park, so the route is quite obvious.

Departure

PIANA

Arrival

PIANA

Distance

8 km

Elevation gain

454 m

Negative elevation gain

456 m

Type of route

Linear

Markup colour

CAIRNS

Nature of the route

  • Walking and hiking trail (PR)

Type of locomotion

Pedestrian

Thematic

  • Culture
  • History
  • Nature

Photo gallery

In the vicinity

• Sentier de Promenade et de Randonnée (PR)

tour genoise de capo rosso

  • Patrimoine et mémoire
  • Sport et aventure

Aujourd'hui c'est fermé
Demain c'est fermé
Après-demain c'est fermé

Découvrir le patrimoine

tour du Capo Rosso

Présentation

Randonnée de Capu Rossu, dans les Calanche de Piana. Le chemin est facile au début et serpente sous un couvert végétal constitué de romarins, de myrtes, d’arbousiers et d’autres arbustes du maquis dominés par endroits de chênes verts et de grands oliviers tortueux. Le site rénové vous fera découvri

Capu Rossu est l’une des plus hautes falaises maritimes d’Europe. Une belle randonnée permet de découvrir la côte du Capo Rosso jusqu'au sommet de la tour Génoise qui surplombe le Cap.
Le chemin est facile au début et serpente sous un couvert végétal constitué de romarins, de myrtes, d’arbousiers et d’autres arbustes du maquis dominés par endroits de chênes verts et de grands oliviers tortueux. Le site rénové vous fera découvrir fontaines et jardins oubliés. Capu Rossu, aujourd’hui déserté, était jadis bien peuplé, en heritage, pas moins de 17 constructions en pierres, que l'on appelle « Casette » et qui servaient autrefois au stockage de la paille et du blé et d’abri pour les hommes et leur bêtes. Caprins et ovins y donnaient un lait parfumé qui était utilisé pour la fabrication d’un fromage délicieux : le Brocciu , encore très réputé dans la région . Après la bergerie et l'aire à blé c'est l’ascension jusqu'à la tour, on gravit le sommet par son versant le moins raide : le sud. Un bon sentier permet d’accéder au sommet (cairns) et à la tour de Turghiu. Si vous entrez, un escalier étroit vous permettra de rejoindre la plateforme et là et bien une vue époustouflante s'offre à vous. La tour génoise bâtie au bord d’une falaise de plus de 300 mètres de haut, donne une vue à 360° sur le paysage environnant et sur ses trois sœurs : les tours d’Omigna, Orchinu et Cargèse.
Cette randonnée est à faire avec des chaussures de randonnée, chaussures qui sont nécessaires sur la quasi totalité du parcours qui est très rocailleux. Il est important de partir tôt le matin pour faire cette randonnée car le soleil chauffe énormément sur cette partie de la côte. Sur le trajet aller, la montée vers le Capo Rosso est assez difficile et vous devrez aussi ne pas négliger la quantité d'eau à prendre avec vous.
La totalité du sentier est visible depuis le parking, et donc le parcours reste assez évident

Départ

PIANA

Arrivée

PIANA

Distance

8 km

Dénivelé positif

454 m

Dénivelé négatif

456 m

Type d'itinéraire

Linéaire

Couleur balisage

CAIRNS

Nature de l'itinéraire

  • Sentier de Promenade et de Randonnée (PR)

Type de locomotion

Pédestre

Thématique

  • Culture
  • Histoire
  • Nature

Localisation

D824 DIRECTION PLAGE D'ARONE

20115 PIANA

Photos

Aux alentours