The Turghju Tower...

Built in 1608, at the beginning of the 17th century which saw the construction of most of the Genoese towers on the western side of Corsica, the Turghiu tower communicated with three other towers, Orchinu, Omigna and Paomia (today Cargèse)

Capu Rossu is a fabulous promontory, one of the highest sea cliffs in Europe, offering a 360° view from its summit 

Capo Rosso is the second most western point of Corsica, surpassed by Gargalo in the Scandola nature reserve. It is a pink granite cape accessible only on foot and topped by a Genoese tower.

Our partner

To find out more about your stay in Piana, book a visit with our partner

A little history...

In 1604, Anton Giovanni Sarrola, a notable from the south of Corsica and an orator from the "Delà des Monts", was appointed to build the four towers, at a time when the coastline was subject to the constant raids of the Barbarians.

Thus, this territory was called "Land of the Four Towers".

Barbary pirates, sometimes called Barbary or Ottoman privateers, were Muslim pirates who operated from North Africa, based mainly in the ports of Salé, Rabat, Algiers, Tunis and Tripoli. 

Their predation extended throughout the Mediterranean and beyond: along the Atlantic coast of West Africa and in the North Atlantic as far as Iceland. However, their preferred hunting ground remained mainly the western Mediterranean.

In addition to seizing merchant ships, the main purpose of their attacks was the 'collection' of men, women and children for the slave trade for the Ottoman Empire and the general Arab slave market in North Africa and the Middle East.

Tour of Capo Rosso in pictures

La Tour de Turghju…

Bâtie en 1608, en ce début du XVIIe siècle qui voit l’édification de la plupart des tours génoises de la façade occidentale de la Corse, la tour de Turghiu communiquait avec trois autres tours, Orchinu, Omigna et Paomia (aujourd’hui Cargèse)

Capu Rossu est un promontoire fabuleux, l’une des plus hautes falaises maritimes d’Europe, offrant une vue à 360° de son sommet 

Le Capo Rosso est le deuxième point le plus occidental de Corse, dépassé par Gargalo  dans la réserve naturelle de Scandola. C’est un cap de granite rose accessible uniquement à pied et coiffé d’une tour génoise.

Un peu d’histoire…

1604, Anton Giovanni Sarrola, notable du sud de la Corse et orateur du « Delà des Monts », est nommé pour l’édification des quatre tours, alors que le littoral est soumis aux razzias permanentes des Barbaresques.

Ainsi ce territoire était nommé « Terre des Quatre Tours ».

Les pirates barbaresques, parfois appelés corsaires barbaresques ou corsaires ottomans, étaient des pirates musulmans qui opéraient depuis l’Afrique du Nord, basés principalement dans les ports de Salé, Rabat, Alger, Tunis et Tripoli. 

Leur prédation s’étendait sur toute la Méditerranée et au delà : le long de la côte atlantique de l’Afrique de l’ouest et dans l’Atlantique nord jusqu’à l’Islande. Mais leur terrain de chasse privilégié restait principalement la Méditerranée occidentale.

En plus de s’emparer de navires marchands, le but principal de leurs attaques était la “collecte” d’hommes, femmes et enfants pour la traite des esclaves pour l’Empire Ottoman ainsi que pour le marché général arabe de l’esclavage en Afrique du Nord et au Moyen-Orient.

Tour du Capo Rosso en image