• Tower

tower of capu rossu (or turghiu)

Discovering heritage

20115 PIANA

capo rosso tower

We like

A fabulous promontory, Capo Rosso is one of the highest sea cliffs in Europe, offering unforgettable views of the colourful landscape from its tower, nestled over 300 metres above the sea.

Built in 1608, at the beginning of the 17th century when most of the Genoese towers on the western side of Corsica were built, the Turghiu tower communicated with three other towers, Orchino, Omigna and Paomia (today Cargese), a territory that was then called "Land of the Four Towers".
Crowned by the Turghiu tower, built on the edge of a 331 metre high cliff, Capo Rosso is a fabulous promontory, one of the highest maritime cliffs in Europe, offering unforgettable views of the incandescent landscapes to the west, in the evening light of the Calanche de Piana and Scandola, and to the east as far as the tooth of Paglia Orba and the summit of Monte Cintu.
The top of the tower is accessible by a small interior staircase and there on the plateau, a magical 360° panorama, a breathtaking view🤩
But be careful to reach it a 3h30 walk there and back is necessary. Always in full sun, the difficulty of this walk lies mainly in the heat present all along, more than the difference in altitude or the length of the route.

Architectural style

  • Roman

Photo gallery

Benefits

Children's benefits

 

Useful information

TripAdvisor

Access

  • Airport/airfield
    Ajaccio at 76 km
  • Maritime station
    Ajaccio at 76 km

Situations

  • Seaside
    0.1 km away

In the vicinity

• Tour

tour de capu rossu ( ou turghiu)

Aujourd'hui c'est ouvert
Demain c'est ouvert
Après-demain c'est ouvert
tour de capo rosso

Présentation

Promontoire fabuleux, Capo Rosso est l’une des plus hautes falaises maritimes d’Europe, offrant des vues inoubliables sur les paysages colorés depuis sa tour, niché à plus de 300 mètres d'altitude au dessus de la mer.

Bâtie en 1608, en ce début du XVIIe siècle qui voit l’édification de la plupart des tours génoises de la façade occidentale de la Corse, la tour de Turghiu communiquait avec trois autres tours, Orchino, Omigna et Paomia (aujourd’hui Cargèse), territoire que l'on appelait alors « Terre des Quatre Tours ».
Couronné par la tour de Turghiu, construite au bord d’un à-pic de 331 mètres, Capo Rosso est un promontoire fabuleux, l’une des plus hautes falaises maritimes d’Europe, offrant des vues inoubliables sur les paysages incandescents à l'ouest, dans la lumière du soir des Calanche de Piana et de Scandola et vers l’est jusqu’à la dent de Paglia Orba et la cime du Monte Cintu.
Le sommet de la tour est accessible par un petit escalier intérieur et là sur le plateau, un panorama en 360° magique, une vue à couper le souffle🤩
Mais attention pour y accéder une marche aller et retour de 3h30 est nécessaire. Toujours en plein soleil, la difficulté de cette marché réside surtout dan la chaleur présente tout le long, plus que le dénivelé ou la longueur du parcours.

Style architectural

  • Roman

Prestations

Prestations enfants

 

Localisation

20115 PIANA

Accès

  • Aéroport/aérodrome
    Ajaccio à 76 km
  • Gare maritime
    Ajaccio à 76 km

Situations

  • Bord de mer
    à 0.1 km

Photos

Ouverture & Avis

TripAdvisor

Aux alentours