• Statue

soccia - a soccia

Discovering heritage

20125 SOCCIA

soccia (3) (1)

We like

A typical mountain village, Soccia is an ideal place to recharge your batteries in the heights

Built in an amphitheatre at an altitude of 747 m on a ridge at the foot of Capu a u Pantanu, Soccia offers an architecture with facades, porches and old ovens of character and typical of the villages of the interior.
In the heart of a natural cirque surrounding the small valley of the Izzola, Soccia is a paradise for lovers of green spaces: river bathing, canyoning in the Ziocu, Lake Creno, hiking, everything is there.

The commune is an ideal area for pastoralism, with large areas of mountainous pastureland next to the Niolu. A road, known to have been used since prehistoric times, once linked Soccia to Corte: the Strada Antica. This important transhumance route crossed the centre of Corsica from the mouth of the Liamone and ran along the Tavignanu valley through Pastricciola.

In terms of heritage, Soccia has many chestnut ovens, beautiful sheepfolds, the ruins of an ancient bridge and its parish church of Sainte Marie, with its lantern tower, hides a polychrome wood triptych dating from the 15th century which represents a Virgin and Child with a cherry in her hand surrounded by Saints Marcellu and Petru.

The area was devastated by Genoese repression in the Middle Ages and Soccia, like many other villages, was abandoned for a time. The area was gradually repopulated and the village we know today was formed around the parish church of Santa Maria (an ancient oratory) dedicated to the Annunciation (A Nunziata) during the modern era.

A little background information:
Very popular in the summer, a monumental cross marks the start of the Creno lake path, at the very top of the village

Photo gallery

Benefits

Children's benefits

 

Useful information

Access

  • Airport/airfield
    Ajaccio at 66 km
  • Maritime station
    Ajaccio at 66 km

Situations

  • Mountain
    to km

In the vicinity

• Statue

soccia - a soccia

soccia (3) (1)

Présentation

Village typique de montagne, Soccia est un lieu idéal pour se ressourcer dans les hauteurs

Construit en amphithéâtre à 747 m d'altitude sur une arête au pied du Capu a u Pantanu, Soccia offre une architecture aux façades, porches et vieux fours de caractère et typique des villages de l'intérieur.
Au cœur d'une nature formant un cirque qui entoure la petite vallée de l'Izzola, Soccia est un paradis pour les amoureux des espaces verts : baignades en rivière, canyoning dans le Ziocu, lac de Creno, randonnées, tout y est.

Territoire propice au pastoralisme, la commune possède d’importants espaces de pâturages montagneux accolés au Niolu. Une route, connue pour être empruntée depuis la Préhistoire, reliait jadis Soccia à Corte : la Strada Antica. Cet important chemin de transhumance traversait le centre de la Corse depuis l'embouchure du Liamone et longeait la vallée du Tavignanu en passant par Pastricciola.

Côté patrimoine, Soccia conserve de nombreux fours à châtaignes, de belles bergeries, les ruines d’un pont ancien et son église paroissiale Sainte Marie, au clocher à lanternon, cache un triptyque sur bois polychrome datant du XVe siècle qui représente une Vierge à l’Enfant une cerise à la main entourée des Saints Marcellu et Petru.

La piève ayant été dévastée par la répression génoise au Moyen-âge, Soccia comme nombre d'autres villages a été abandonné un temps. Le territoire s'est progressivement repeuplé et le village que l’on connaît aujourd'hui s’est formé autour de l’église paroissiale Santa Maria (ancien oratoire) consacrée à l'Annonciation (A Nunziata) durant l’époque moderne.

Pour la petite histoire :
Très fréquenté en période estivale, une croix monumentale marque le départ du sentier du lac de Creno, tout en haut du village

Prestations

Prestations enfants

 

Localisation

20125 SOCCIA

Accès

  • Aéroport/aérodrome
    Ajaccio à 66 km
  • Gare maritime
    Ajaccio à 66 km

Situations

  • Montagne
    à km

Photos

Aux alentours