casaglione - casaglio

Discovering heritage

20111 CASAGLIONE

Casaglione Fountain (3)

We like

Between the sea and the mountains, Casaglione is rooted in the history of the territory since prehistoric times

Casaglione stretches from its village perched on the side of the mountain, less touristy, to the sea, its small creeks and its seaside resort of Tiuccia . Its landscape between the sea and the mountains and the typical Corsican villages make Casaglione a very pleasant and picturesque place to spend your holidays.

In the heart of the Cinarca valley, overlooking the Liamone and Liscia valleys, Casaglione has been occupied since prehistoric times. An ideal place for the establishment of a stronghold, several objects dating from the Neolithic period have been found in the municipality, such as fragments of weapons and tools, relatively elaborate pottery, some of which are engraved with symbols or decorated with mica, and a dolmen at Tremaca.
On the presumed site of the ancient Neolithic oppidum, a large number of small cavities dug into the rock are today the only traces of a Neolithic village that stored part of its crops there.
Another site of archaeological interest is the rock shelter discovered at Monte Lazzu. It was used as a tomb and contained metalwork dating from the first Iron Age (early 1st century BC).

Today a seaside resort, Tiuccia was an observation and defence post in Roman times. Its Capraja castle is one of the last residences of the Cinarchesi, of which only ruins remain on the heights of Tiuccia.

The village has managed to preserve its small heritage, which bears witness to the habits of a bygone era: you can refresh yourself at the fountain, which dates back to 1886 and was restored in 2014, or discover the washhouse at the exit of the village.
Wine lovers can stop to visit and taste the wines of the Clos d'Alzeto cellar or the Domaine de Tremica, located between Casaglione and Sari d'Orcino.

A little history:
The origin of the village's name comes from a shepherd called Leon (Leone) who welcomed workers into his home. The name of the village is therefore the combination of Casa (house) and Leone, which gave Casaglione.
In the Middle Ages, Count Ugo Colonna found an area with a beautiful mound and decided to build a castle for his young son "Cinarco" (hence the name Cinarca which was given to the valley and its lords "the Cinarchesi").

Photo gallery

Benefits

Children's benefits

 

Useful information

Access

  • Airport/airfield
    Ajaccio at 33 km
  • Maritime station
    Ajaccio at 33 km

In the vicinity

casaglione - casaglio

Fontaine Casaglione (3)

Présentation

Entre mer et montagne , Casaglione est ancré dans l'histoire du territoire depuis la Préhistoire

Casaglione s'étend depuis son village perché sur son flanc de montagne, moins touristique, jusqu’à la mer, ses petites criques et sa station balnéaire de Tiuccia . Son paysage entre mer et montagne et cette typicité propre aux villages corses fait de Casaglione un cadre pittoresque des plus agréables pour passer ses vacances.

Au cœur de la piève de Cinarca, dominant les vallées du Liamone et de la Liscia, Casaglione voit son territoire occupé depuis la préhistoire. Lieu idéal pour l'établissement d'une place forte, on a retrouvé sur le territoire communal plusieurs objets datant du néolithique comme des fragments d’armes et d’outils, des poteries relativement élaborées dont certaines sont gravées de symboles ou décorées de mica, ou encore un dolmen à Tremaca.
Sur le lieu présumé de l'ancien oppidum néolithique, un grand nombre de petites cavités creusées à même la roche, sont aujourd'hui les seules traces d’un village néolithique qui entreposait là une partie de ses récoltes.
Autre site d'intérêt archéologique, l'abri sous roche découvert au Monte Lazzu. Il était utilisé alors comme tombeau et renfermait des pièces de métallerie datant du premier âge de fer (au début du 1er siècle av. J-C).

Aujourd'hui station balnéaire, Tiuccia était un poste d’observation et de défense à l’époque romaine. Son château de Capraja est l’une des dernières demeures des Cinarchesi dont il n'en reste que des ruines sur les hauteurs de Tiuccia.

Le village a su conserver son petit patrimoine témoin des habitudes d'un temps révolu : vous pourrez vous rafraîchir à la fontaine qui date de 1886 et restaurée en 2014, ou découvrir le lavoir qui se trouve à la sortie du village.
Les amateurs de vins, eux, pourront s'arrêter visiter et déguster des cuvées de la cave du Clos d’Alzeto ou du Domaine de Tremica, situés entre Casaglione et Sari d’Orcino.

Pour la petite histoire :
L'origine du nom du village proviendrait d'un berger s’appelant Léon (Leone) qui accueillait chez lui des travailleurs. Le nom du village est donc l’association de Casa (maison) et Leone, qui donnera Casaglione.
Au Moyen Age, le comte Ugo Colonna trouva une contrée avec un beau tertre et il décida de construire un château pour son jeune fils “Cinarco” (d'où le nom Cinarca qui fut donnée la vallée et à ses seigneurs “les Cinarchesi”).

Accueil groupe

Non

Prestations

Prestations enfants

 

Localisation

20111 CASAGLIONE

Accès

  • Aéroport/aérodrome
    Ajaccio à 33 km
  • Gare maritime
    Ajaccio à 33 km

Photos

Ouverture & Avis

Ouverture à l'année

Oui

Aux alentours