• City, village and neighbourhood

cargese - carghjese

20130 CARGESE

Cargese

We like

Cargèse is a picturesque village marked by the settlement of a Greek colony whose religious testimony is complemented by the two churches with different rites facing each other on the seafront

With its houses with white facades and Mediterranean atmosphere, Cargèse is a seaside resort definitely turned towards the sea where it is good to live with its picturesque fishing port and marina (launching).
Its greatest particularity: the two Catholic churches facing each other on the seafront, one of Latin rite and the other of Greek rite. This different practice of religion was imported by a Greek colony that settled here in the 17th century.
The Cargese coastline is a jagged coastline from which three rocky points protrude into the sea, all topped by Genoese towers: Punta d'Orchinu, Punta d'Omigna and Punta di Carghjese.
Cargèse is made up of more or less recent hamlets and old villages, generally located on the coast, which makes it one of the tourist attractions of the commune. We will note in particular: Frimicaghiola, U Cabanicciu, Marchese, Menasina, Lozzi, Chiuni.

For the record:
The village was founded in 1774 by Marbeuf, who became Marquis of Cargese. He settled there the descendants of the colony of Greek Maïnotes that Genoa had established in 1676 in Paomia, a small village on the heights near Cargèse.
They left the peninsula of Morea in the Peloponnese to escape the Ottoman yoke.
In 1663, they began talks with the Republic of Genoa to obtain a sort of protectorate. In 1675, Genoa granted them land 50 km from Ajaccio, with the sole condition that they recognise the supremacy of the Pope.
So 700 emigrants disembarked in Corsica on 14 March 1676 and founded the village of Paomia.

Photo gallery

Benefits

Children's benefits

 

Useful information

Access

  • Airport/airfield
    Ajaccio at 49 km
  • Maritime station
    Ajaccio at 49 km

In the vicinity

• Ville, village et quartier

cargese - carghjese

Cargese

Présentation

Cargèse est un village pittoresque marqué par l'installation d'une colonie grecque dont la commune garde le témoignage religieux complémentaire des deux églises aux rites différents qui se font face en front de mer

Avec ses maisons aux façades blanches à l’ambiance méditerranéenne, Cargèse est une station balnéaire définitivement tournée vers la mer où il y fait bon vivre avec son pittoresque port de pêche et de plaisance (mise à l’eau).
Sa plus grande particularité : les deux églises catholique se faisant face en bord de mer, l’une de rite latin et l’autre de rite grec. Cette pratique différente de la religion a été importé par une colonie grecque qui s’y installa au XVIIe siècle.
Le littoral cargésien est une côte déchiquetée d'où s'avancent trois pointes rocheuses sur la mer, toutes surmontées de tours génoises : Punta d'Orchinu, Punta d'Omigna et Punta di Carghjese.
Cargèse s'est construite de hameaux plus ou moins récents et d'anciens villages, généralement situés sur le littoral ce qui en fait un des attraits touristiques de la commune. On notera notamment : Frimicaghiola, U Cabanicciu, Marchese, Menasina, Lozzi, Chiuni.

Pour la petite histoire :
Le village fut fondé en 1774 par Marbeuf, qui devient à cette occasion marquis de Cargèse. Il y installa les descendants de la colonie de Grecs maïnotes que Gênes avait implanté en 1676 à Paomia, petit village sur les hauteurs proche de Cargèse.
Ils ont quitté la presqu'île de Morée dans le Péloponnèse pour fuir le joug ottoman.
En 1663, ils entamèrent des pourparlers avec la République de Gênes pour obtenir une sorte de protectorat. C’est en 1675, que Gênes leur octroya des terre à 50 km d’Ajaccio, avec une seule condition qu’ils reconnaissent la suprématie du pape.
Ce sont donc 700 émigrants qui débarquèrent en Corse, le 14 mars 1676 et y fondèrent le village de Paomia.

Prestations

Prestations enfants

 

Localisation

20130 CARGESE

Accès

  • Aéroport/aérodrome
    Ajaccio à 49 km
  • Gare maritime
    Ajaccio à 49 km

Photos

Ouverture & Avis

Ouverture à l'année

Oui

Aux alentours